Every Dog Needs a Boy

Standard
"If a boy can adopt a dog, I see no reason why a dog cannot adopt a boy."

“If a boy can adopt a dog, I see no reason why a dog cannot adopt a boy.”

 

So this past weekend, my sister and I had plans to see Divergent on opening day (which was amazing by the way; I may even do a future blog post on it), and she ended up coming home to visit.

I guess we felt inclined to do something fun, since she doesn’t come home that often, so we thought: “Why not go see another movie?” After very little thought, we casually decided on Mr. Peabody & Sherman.

The outing was completely unplanned, but let’s be honest; the best of them are.

With our popcorn and drinks, we entered the theatre with little to no idea what we were even watching.

 

"Bring your doggy bag." Haha! Get it? 'Doggy' bag? :p

“Bring your doggy bag.” Haha! Get it? ‘Doggy’ bag? :p

 

To our pleasant surprise, we both enjoyed it very much; probably even more than all the kids. I can honestly say that we laughed harder and more often than all of them. I personally gave it a five-star rating on Flixster. You can get more info here:

 

 

Mr. Peabody & Sherman is truly an all-ages film. It contains the usual crude humour you would expect from a kids movie – with all the fart and butt jokes and such – yet has a wittier side to it that adults, but not kids, would understand.

I remember one joke in the movie that was discreetly, yet so blatantly sexual. Being the immature young adults that we are, my sister and I were the only ones dying of laughter in the silent theatre. Meanwhile, the kids just sat there, completely ignorant of the inappropriateness of the moment, and the parents too mature to laugh.

Jokes aside, Mr. Peabody & Sherman was also aesthetically pleasing. The animation was fantastic! Though I wouldn’t expect any less from the creators of How to Train Your DragonShrek, and Madagascar. Not to mention one of the directors of The Lion King.

Wow. This movie was set up for success from the very start.

Anyway, moving on to the plot. I have to say, I really liked how they took real events from history and added a new, creative, and easy-to-understand twist to them. It was also especially original of them to show how the characters’ actions in the past affected the little (or big) details of the future. But I’ll let you see for yourself what I mean by that.

And the characters. They were so ingeniously planned and created. They were so full of personality, and there was something to love about all of them. For me, it was Mr. Peabody who instantly stole the spot of ‘favourite character’. He basically had everything; charisma, wit, athleticism, and most of all, intelligence. There was nothing he couldn’t do. On top of all that, he was the ‘good guy’, and an adorable little dog at that. What’s not to love?

Writing this review, I almost want to go see the movie in theatres again, just for laughs. The ticket for this five-star film was worth every penny.

With a witty joke at every corner, there’s never a dull moment in Mr. Peabody & Sherman.

Leave a comment